Author Topic: Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.  (Read 22253 times)

FusionStorm

  • This is my BOOMSTICK!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/weather_op/pageone.html?1113100476773
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2005, 07:15:14 PM »
I think someone has, but couldn't convert to use in FS.
Four Score and so many months ago, us cylons kicked your colonial butts.

Want to learn Truespace 3.2?: My Tutorial

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2005, 07:22:05 PM »
It takes a bit of work to convert it to a FS compatable format.......  or atleast it did before the max converter was released, but there's still the messy face problems that Max gets when importing maya files.
This is a signature.

bash

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #17 on: September 09, 2005, 10:27:06 AM »
Why do you want to convert to Max? Why not use LithUnwrap an move directly to *.cob?

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #18 on: December 30, 2006, 02:36:06 AM »
the link is to register, not download?

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #19 on: December 30, 2006, 09:15:20 AM »
If you mean the TS one, then yes they expect you to register then they give you a code and a download link.

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #20 on: January 01, 2007, 10:00:49 PM »
thats....strange. has anyone tried photoshop for your texturing needs?

http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/

sure, its hard to use at first, but when you get used to it, it does better than PSP and others, especialy if you get eye candy, that handy plugin.

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #21 on: January 07, 2007, 07:59:05 PM »
double post since the edit button disapeared:

the link for Gmax is broken. just some "buy this software" message.

shiv

  • Earth Defense dude :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
    • View Profile
    • http://www.freespace.pl
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #22 on: February 09, 2007, 09:47:45 PM »
I've made my first ship with DOGAGCA

How to export it into pof format now?
"Moonred - Hates shivan ships, but is fucking awesome at making them...."
qazwsx

" SF Kobrar_PL
It fires dildo missiles"






Star Dragon

  • EDF Brigadier General
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2007, 11:01:55 AM »
Gmax is downloadable, but you can't get a key. All the "free" ads are obsolete. By the time I downloaded it I couldn't get one... Pretty useless once you get 3dsmax though, ;) sorry but they made me do it...
"Don\'t think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!"
 
 Coordinator Robotech Mod II
Coordinator FS2 Star Fleet Academy

My powers outside the Robotech section are weak. (as it should be)

Part-time fringe member of the cult of Karajorma :naughty:
 

VA [TI]

  • Wuvs headz
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/twistedinfinities/index2.php
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2007, 01:11:30 PM »
Quote from: shiv;56541
I've made my first ship with DOGAGCA

How to export it into pof format now?
I'd advise against trying to get DOGA models into FS. A couple of quick experiments imply they're rather unstable geometry wise - odd face groupings, a lot of disconnected verts and many other problems.
All of these problems could be fixed in a proper 3d program, but the better solution would be to use said proper program to model the ship from scratch in the first place. ;)

shiv

  • Earth Defense dude :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3683
    • View Profile
    • http://www.freespace.pl
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2007, 05:13:15 PM »
Hmm... on my PC everythng is working properly ;)

I've exported it into TS 3.2 and now I'm trying to texture it :)
"Moonred - Hates shivan ships, but is fucking awesome at making them...."
qazwsx

" SF Kobrar_PL
It fires dildo missiles"






VA [TI]

  • Wuvs headz
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/twistedinfinities/index2.php
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2007, 10:46:08 PM »
It'll appear to be outwardly solid and stable, but just look in the heirarchy. If it's anything like what I saw, it'll have separated itself into dozens of separate objects. It certainly won't be solid, and I bet TS 3.2 will explode if you try and merge them all into one. PCS however will probably explode if you try and convert a ship made of those dozens, if not hundreds of fragmented objects.

This is why I said the problems could be fixed with a proper 3D proggy. :p

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #27 on: February 10, 2007, 11:19:38 PM »
Quote from: shiv;56655
Hmm... on my PC everythng is working properly ;)
Oh that's not a "malfunction." It's the normal behaviour. It's not meant for making models for games, IMO.
This is a signature.

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #28 on: February 11, 2007, 03:04:03 AM »
that happened to me when i first used dark basic. you cant merge them all at once, high end computer or no, infact, so far, i havem been able to merge them at all in truespace! so i just stick with 10-500 small pieces and import it to blender, which HAS no hiearchy. so when you export to .3ds from DOGACGA, import that into blender, and then re-export to 3ds (blender's .COB export makes a huge white flat thing). try it.

http://www.blender3d.org

Water

  • Veteran
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
    • View Profile
Freespace Modeling Tools, exc.
« Reply #29 on: February 11, 2007, 04:42:28 AM »
Quote from: takashi;56702
that happened to me when i first used dark basic. you cant merge them all at once, high end computer or no, infact, so far, i havem been able to merge them at all in truespace! so i just stick with 10-500 small pieces and import it to blender, which HAS no hiearchy. so when you export to .3ds from DOGACGA, import that into blender, and then re-export to 3ds (blender's .COB export makes a huge white flat thing). try it.


Dude, it still happens to you :)  Try "w" and choose remove doubles in blender (edit mode).