Author Topic: It's the Patch!  (Read 74532 times)

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #165 on: November 30, 2007, 08:21:50 AM »
Now that's odd. The fixes we made to multiplayer were pretty minor.

Can you run the debug version and attach your fs2_open.log (You'll find it in Data after the crash).

On_Your_Six

  • Callsign: ThrillRide
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #166 on: November 30, 2007, 11:18:30 AM »
Thanks kara, I couldn't make any sense of the debug log, so here it is...

I'm hoping this won't require me to do a fresh install of both the original demo and the patch, but I'm suspecting it may...

Everything does work perfect in SP though, which is why I thought this weird..

Uh...  Did it attach?  Or do I have to rename .log to .txt?
« Last Edit: November 30, 2007, 11:33:19 AM by On_Your_Six »
"If I\'m a Cylon, you\'re really screwed."   - Commander William "Husker" Adama

Known on IRC and FS2netd as "ThrillRide"

Turey

  • Diaspora Speed Junkie
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • http://www.fsoinstaller.com
It's the Patch!
« Reply #167 on: November 30, 2007, 10:09:48 PM »
Quote from: On_Your_Six;85433

Uh...  Did it attach?


Nope. Try renaming to .txt.
"fighting for the survival of humanity is supposed to be hard." - Josh_88
Get FreeSpace Open here.
what kind of fucking 11 y.o. wannabe leet hacker made that unbelievable stupid, kiddish, awkward and whatsoever socalled \'updater\', which made me laugh at first and then cry and cry .. and now I wish to kill someone\'s parents [and then kill myself, ofcourse]. Any clue?
        Hello! That would be me.

On_Your_Six

  • Callsign: ThrillRide
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #168 on: November 30, 2007, 10:23:07 PM »
Yeah, should have done that to start....

Alright, just copied and pasted into Tech Support Forum...

Link: http://www.game-warden.com/forum/showthread.php?p=85488#post85488
« Last Edit: December 01, 2007, 02:24:00 AM by On_Your_Six »
"If I\'m a Cylon, you\'re really screwed."   - Commander William "Husker" Adama

Known on IRC and FS2netd as "ThrillRide"

Turey

  • Diaspora Speed Junkie
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • http://www.fsoinstaller.com
It's the Patch!
« Reply #169 on: November 30, 2007, 10:40:17 PM »
Quote from: On_Your_Six;85474
Yeah, should have done that to start....

Hmm, no dice...  Curses



perhaps http://www.pastebin.com?
"fighting for the survival of humanity is supposed to be hard." - Josh_88
Get FreeSpace Open here.
what kind of fucking 11 y.o. wannabe leet hacker made that unbelievable stupid, kiddish, awkward and whatsoever socalled \'updater\', which made me laugh at first and then cry and cry .. and now I wish to kill someone\'s parents [and then kill myself, ofcourse]. Any clue?
        Hello! That would be me.

Backslash

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #170 on: December 02, 2007, 11:50:33 PM »
Quote from: Khaze;81033
I've noticed some buggyness with the engine sounds when toggling glide on and off. Sometimes the engine sounds are really loud, even if your engines are set to 0 after disengaging glide. It's a bit confusing.

Good news!  Frak it took FOREVER to track it down but I finally found the problem:  the Viper's engine loop sound is 20 seconds long!  As a result I'm pretty sure my code IS already working, it's just the file keeps playing for 20 seconds even though the engine has changed.  So I found some code to make it silence early, I just need to get the code approved with the other devs because it might behave 'not as desired' with other, shorter, loops.
Quote from: Angelus;83471
My Joystick is a nearly 5 year old Microsoft Sidewinder Precision 2, and it shows in the launcher properly. I've tested the throttle setting 0 on Joystick and full throttle key on KB that you suggested, but it still occurs, although i have to say, that during the testgame it only happened twice ( usually it happened 7 or 8 times during a game).

Turns out I have a friend with that joystick, so was able to do some proper testing.  A good joystick -- I have the Force Feedback 2, and used to have the Precision 1 (and before that, the 3D Pro).  Unfortunately I STILL can't reproduce your problem no matter what I try.  Just to make sure, what OS are you running, and are you using some special joystick management software?  Reason I ask is I remember 98 had some Sidewinder config software where you could change bindings and set up macros, whereas afaik XP there isn't any.  Gah.  Can anyone else reproduce this problem?
Quote from: Rainman;83475
On the same subject, there is a minor issue with the joystick and those same spooling sounds. When I start out at 0 throttle (usually after a death in multiplayer) and move my joystick throttle to 100%, the sounds that i get when i press the full throttle button don't play. My suggestion is having the trigger for the sound play when any acceleration above 20% occurs, so if i go from 40 to 60 i hear it, and it would be even cooler if it gets louder or changes a bit as I close in on max throttle or have a 60% or higher throttle change. In the end its up to u guys, and i hope its as simple as the other issue.

There is in fact existing code for this, but afaik it never worked as wished and so was commented out.  In fact I think this code had been commented out by the original Volition Freespace 2 coders!  So I'll take a look at it, see if I can make it be non-annoying, but as you say it's a minor issue.
More important is the starting out at 0 after respawn, which is Really Annoying (and often downright fatal), so I'm hacking at that first. :biggrin1:

Felix 039

  • Callsign: Slasher
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #171 on: December 04, 2007, 06:47:51 AM »
Quote from: Josh_88;84822
real life issues and other issues of more importance for the guy who knows how do to it for the mac. Taylor (I think he's doing it) is a busy guy

"Basically we need our resident Mac coder to have time out from doing pretty much everything else the SCP does so that he has time to make the mac build for us."

from Karajorma


¬_¬ There's only one mac coder here?
There are three kinds of people in the world, those who think, those who think they think, and those who rather die.

Josh_88

  • Aerelon Viper Pilot
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #172 on: December 04, 2007, 09:37:12 AM »
they have a hard enough time finding any coders, I'm sure they're glad they have at least one for mac. It's like they've been saying... they need coders.
Cl1nt: I for one, welcome our Spork overlords
 
"Sometimes you gotta roll the hard six"


karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #173 on: December 04, 2007, 10:56:57 AM »
BTW we have the release build for the Mac now and we'll be sticking it into the patch very soon. We're probably going to just release a new patch for all three platforms though since there are a few other problems we've fixed too.

David cgc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
    • http://web.mac.com/david_of_mac/
It's the Patch!
« Reply #174 on: December 04, 2007, 08:39:24 PM »
Sounds good. I await with bated breath.
“Just as a fun exercise, imagine what a bunch of hot chicks would think if they were reading this thread over your shoulder. I like to do that from time to time.”
Samuel T. Cogley

Dr.Danger

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #175 on: December 05, 2007, 01:20:21 AM »
Yay!

Felix 039

  • Callsign: Slasher
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #176 on: December 05, 2007, 05:45:15 AM »
Finally :D, can't wait
There are three kinds of people in the world, those who think, those who think they think, and those who rather die.

theShaggy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #177 on: December 09, 2007, 08:18:33 PM »
Okay, I'm having trouble with the patch

The game worked yesterday when I used the base install.  Then I downloaded and patched the game on Ubuntu Gutsy-64.  However, after I patched, I couldn't run the script.  I tried running in Terminal, only I got this error:

Quote
./btrl_demo.bin: error while loading shared libraries: libogg.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


I do, in fact, have libogg.so.0 installed, so I'm not sure why it refuses to open.

Any suggestions?  Searching the forum turned up nothing.

castor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
    • http://www.ffighters.co.uk./home/
It's the Patch!
« Reply #178 on: December 09, 2007, 08:45:58 PM »
Weird..
Maybe check how the results from ldd btrl_demo.bin and ls -l /usr/lib/libogg* compare?
Cheers!

letic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
It's the Patch!
« Reply #179 on: December 11, 2007, 05:01:53 PM »
Same error here as theshaggy when applying the patch. It seems that the update is only 32bits...

I'm running Debian SID 64 bits and when trying to run ldd on btrl_demo.bin I got the following :
Code: [Select]
letic@obelix:~/btrl_demo$ ldd btrl_demo.bin
linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
libSDL-1.2.so.0 => /usr/lib32/libSDL-1.2.so.0 (0xf7e93000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib32/libpthread.so.0 (0xf7e7c000)
libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libGL.so.1 (0xf7de6000)
libGLU.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libGLU.so.1 (0xf7d66000)
libopenal.so.0 => not found
libogg.so.0 => not found
libvorbis.so.0 => not found
libvorbisfile.so.3 => not found
libtheora.so.0 => not found
libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libstdc++.so.6 (0xf7c79000)
libm.so.6 => /lib32/libm.so.6 (0xf7c54000)
libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xf7c49000)
libc.so.6 => /lib32/libc.so.6 (0xf7b02000)
libasound.so.2 => /usr/lib32/libasound.so.2 (0xf7a3c000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib32/libdl.so.2 (0xf7a38000)
libdirectfb-0.9.so.25 => /usr/lib32/libdirectfb-0.9.so.25 (0xf79e1000)
libfusion-0.9.so.25 => /usr/lib32/libfusion-0.9.so.25 (0xf79db000)
libdirect-0.9.so.25 => /usr/lib32/libdirect-0.9.so.25 (0xf79cc000)
libvga.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libvga.so.1 (0xf796c000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xf7f62000)
libGLcore.so.1 => /usr/lib32/libGLcore.so.1 (0xf6fd4000)
libnvidia-tls.so.1 => /usr/lib32/tls/libnvidia-tls.so.1 (0xf6fd1000)
libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libXext.so.6 (0xf6fc3000)
libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libX11.so.6 (0xf6ed7000)
libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libXau.so.6 (0xf6ed4000)
libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib32/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xf6ecf000)


It would be great if you could release a new version of the patch including the 64bits binaries.