Author Topic: what does the "squadron" field do?  (Read 3691 times)

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
what does the "squadron" field do?
« on: May 01, 2007, 01:36:12 AM »
what does the squadron field in multiplayer opyions do? and why does the FAQ say to "safely leave it blank"?

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
what does the "squadron" field do?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2007, 09:49:00 AM »
Good question.

No idea what the answer is. I assume it was something to do with Squad War.

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
what does the "squadron" field do?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2007, 04:46:29 PM »
AFAIK it does nothing and never did do anything even in Squad Wars.  I always type my squad in there just for the heck of it and it doesn't seem to hurt anything.
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
what does the "squadron" field do?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2007, 08:30:49 PM »
Well the Squad War code was ripped out so I can't check what it did in retail but it certainly does bugger all now. :D

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
what does the "squadron" field do?
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2007, 12:41:02 AM »
why not ask the makers of freespace?

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
what does the "squadron" field do?
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2007, 01:19:18 PM »
Because it's far more sensible to wait until Taylor restores the Squad War code and simply look for myself.