Author Topic: PCS Woes  (Read 6950 times)

Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« on: February 21, 2005, 12:55:22 AM »
Okay, so I've got a model and I want to put it into FS2. But PCS crashes when trying to convert it. I've left it for up to 20 minutes, and it shows up as not responding in the task manager. I don't even know where to begin looking for the problem. I'm using the latest PCS, 1.3.42, and I think I've got the hierarchy set up right... (See below). The model itself has 6100 polies, no LODs or debris (yet).

I got an earlier version in before, but now it seems like it doesn't want to cooperate.

Any ideas?

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
PCS Woes
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2005, 11:57:34 PM »
Try converting just the Hull on it's own (with a light attached)

Also I've always stuck a light to the turret base (although I don't know how necessary that is).


Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2005, 12:58:36 AM »
Just tried it, it still crashes.

What kind of errors make it crash? If it's a modelling thing, it shouldn't be that hard to fix, unless I would have to rework the whole thing.

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
PCS Woes
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2005, 01:16:10 AM »
Check PCS to make sure that the scaling is correct. I had that error, too, and never realized that the default scaling was set to ERROR!
This is a signature.

Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2005, 02:59:52 AM »
Nope, it was at 150, and then I tried it again at 1, but it still didn't work.

I've uploaded the ship if anyone wants to try themselves or tell me what I did wrong. There's one with the guns, and one without them. Just ignore the reeeeally crappy texture job, I'm still trying to explore the texturing thing.

Link!

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
PCS Woes
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2005, 04:00:18 AM »
Normally, PCS's conversion factor is 20

and it rarely works at anything else...
This is a signature.

Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2005, 04:27:18 AM »
Ah well, I've had success with it with other factors, but 20 still didn't work.

:sigh:

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
PCS Woes
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2005, 04:43:13 AM »
It didn't work for me either. I tried your file, and both scenes made PCS hang forever, until I had to close it...
This is a signature.

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
PCS Woes
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2005, 08:39:21 PM »
Fixed it.

I heard this tip ages ago and it's saved many models for me :)

Open the scene in truespace. Create a new plane which doesn't touch your model. Select your model and then boolean subtract the plane. (I had to do it twice but it eventually reduced your model to around 800 polys). I then triangulated it and put it into PCS. Took about 4 seconds to convert :D

Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2005, 12:21:53 AM »
What...the...narf...?

Okay, it looks like it works (tons of polies got shaved off), but TS crashes within 5 seconds. But I shall not give up, I'm so close now.

Thanks a ton kara! :biggrin1:

Star Dragon

  • EDF Brigadier General
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
PCS Woes
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2005, 04:12:14 AM »
I used Model view it converted in 20 seconds... Will edit this post in a few after I make a Dl link to .pof (I am afraid to edit it when I add shields to a mesh it crashes)...
 
 Opps scratch that, it needs to be oriented first, plus how long is it supposed to be? Right now it's the size of a large Freighter .
« Last Edit: February 25, 2005, 04:14:26 AM by Star Dragon »
"Don\'t think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!"
 
 Coordinator Robotech Mod II
Coordinator FS2 Star Fleet Academy

My powers outside the Robotech section are weak. (as it should be)

Part-time fringe member of the cult of Karajorma :naughty:
 

Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« Reply #11 on: February 25, 2005, 04:30:50 AM »
It's supposed 700-800m, its supposed to be a cruiser. Not an FS Cruiser mind you. It's for my own mod that will never see the light of day.

Star Dragon

  • EDF Brigadier General
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
PCS Woes
« Reply #12 on: February 25, 2005, 05:40:24 AM »
damn so it's not gonna go public, I simply LOVE those design elements/style...
     
 EDIT - I got it oriented in TS then reconverted with modelview to get size estimate, got it length wise to 875meters... added gun data to it and fixed a few of your firing points (some were still in center of ship, not matched to proper turrets) I got close but not perfect. I also added 2 engines with 1 glow apiece (to diasble them later). Made a test pof and got it in game took a screen. They blow up nicelyand also they warp out, so the only thing needed to test now is to add a dock path but they did not crash on me at all. OPS! I just re-edited and made the turrets ROTATE!! BTW 2 of the turrets are OFF and rotate off the model I will go back and figure it out later. I laso made more subsystems just to get them started but you need to figure out where you want them.
     
 So go work on a custom texture map now!!!!! BTW I liked your turrets, they are more detailed then they appear far away, I got REAL close to em lol... TOO CLOSE! :P
   
 Edit look for the .rar file I made at the bottom of this post, it contains the game .pof and .pcx textures from your .tga's... If it's ok with you I'd like to mess around some more later with it. Otherwise I will delete it if you want me to? L8tr!
« Last Edit: February 25, 2005, 12:46:43 PM by Star Dragon »
"Don\'t think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!"
 
 Coordinator Robotech Mod II
Coordinator FS2 Star Fleet Academy

My powers outside the Robotech section are weak. (as it should be)

Part-time fringe member of the cult of Karajorma :naughty:
 

Axem

  • MRRFR MRRF!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2232
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sectorgame.com/axem/
PCS Woes
« Reply #13 on: February 25, 2005, 03:21:11 PM »
Dude sweet. TS kept crashing, so I couldn't get kara's thing to work.

I'll get to work on giving it a better texture. I'll probably tile the ship but UV map the turrets, since those are in the greatest need of better texturing.

And you're free to mess around with it, just keep me up to date with it. ;)

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
PCS Woes
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2005, 04:14:28 PM »
What version of TS are you using?

Want me to Boolean it for you? I use TS6.5 though so I'm not 100% certain I'll be able to export it in a format you can use.