Author Topic: Extremely long load times in demo  (Read 5865 times)

Turey

  • Diaspora Speed Junkie
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 381
    • View Profile
    • http://www.fsoinstaller.com
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2007, 01:42:13 AM »
Quote from: ads0529;62371
I only have one drive that I can install anything to.


Try running beyondtheredline.exe, going to the features tab, and adding -pofspew to the custom flags box, hitting apply, then run. This will tell the game to cache all the models. Once the game closes itself, take -pofspew out and try it. There's a good chance that this will help load times.
"fighting for the survival of humanity is supposed to be hard." - Josh_88
Get FreeSpace Open here.
what kind of fucking 11 y.o. wannabe leet hacker made that unbelievable stupid, kiddish, awkward and whatsoever socalled \'updater\', which made me laugh at first and then cry and cry .. and now I wish to kill someone\'s parents [and then kill myself, ofcourse]. Any clue?
        Hello! That would be me.

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2007, 07:38:49 AM »
I thought of that Turey but he's saying he has trouble getting to the main menu not on mission load (when the .IBX files are generated) so frankly I'm stumped.

Worth a try though.

black_library

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #17 on: April 02, 2007, 12:30:48 PM »
My computer is like 2x slower than his is but I dont have any loading time problems.... If those loading times really bother you then reinstall windows, install only the basic drivers(motherboard, sound, graphics) and demo, if that doesnt work than nothing will:)

ads0529

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #18 on: April 02, 2007, 02:40:41 PM »
I did what Turey suggested and the load times are unchanged.

Volw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #19 on: April 02, 2007, 03:04:20 PM »
Have you tried to update your motherboard drivers?


You can also check how fast your HDD is, try with this app - http://www.majorgeeks.com/HDTach_d672.html

There might be an issue with the hard drive or windows .. anyways if you get low results and nothing else helps, I'd try to format the hdd.

ads0529

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #20 on: April 03, 2007, 12:53:22 AM »
I tryed installing the demo on a different computer which is within the system requirements and had the SAME loading time error I encountered on my own computer.

Destructor!!!

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2007, 01:17:25 AM »
you're not running any memory or CPU-intensive programs in the task tray, are you? what Virus program do you use, for example? This is really wierd, as this Demo runs absolutely fine on my low end machine. Loading times are 10->30 seconds mostly.

Maniac2099

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2007, 04:08:54 AM »
yea uhhh my game has been doing the exact same thig as ads

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #23 on: April 03, 2007, 07:14:23 AM »
Those of you with long load times, give me a proper report.

http://www.game-warden.com/forum/showpost.php?p=62785&postcount=11

ads0529

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #24 on: April 03, 2007, 02:54:15 PM »
Ok here is the report:
Intel Pentium 4 3.0 ghz
1gb RAM
256mb Nvidia Geforce 6800
Creative Sound Blaster Live 24-bit
==========================================================================
DEBUG SPEW: No debug_filter.cfg found, so only general, error, and warning
categories can be shown and no debug_filter.cfg info will be saved.
==========================================================================
Passed cmdline options:
  -spec_exp 8.2
  -spec_static 3.5
  -spec_point 8.6
  -spec_tube 1.0
  -2d_poof
  -alpha_env
  -ambient_factor 70
  -jpgtga
  -mipmap
  -missile_lighting
  -glow
  -spec
  -ballistic_gauge
  -dualscanlines
  -targetinfo
  -ship_choice_3d
  -snd_preload
  -cap_object_update  
Building file index...
Searching root 'C:\games\btrl\demo\'
Searching root pack 'C:\games\btrl\demo\z_missions_BtRLDemo.vp'
Searching root pack 'C:\games\btrl\demo\z_root_BtRLDemo.vp'
Found 3 roots and 3248 files.
AutoLang: Language auto-detection successful...
Setting language to English
Initializing OpenAL...
  Using 'Generic Software' as OpenAL sound device...
  OpenAL Vendor     : Creative Labs Inc.
  OpenAL Renderer   : Software
  OpenAL Version    : 1.1

... OpenAL successfully initialized!
GR_CPU: Family 15, MMX=Yes
Initializing OpenGL graphics device at 1024x768 with 16-bit color...
  Initializing WGL...
  Requested WGL Video values = R: 5, G: 6, B: 5, depth: 16, double-buffer: 1
  Actual WGL Video values    = R: 8, G: 8, B: 8, depth: 24, double-buffer: 1
  OpenGL Vendor     : NVIDIA Corporation
  OpenGL Renderer   : GeForce 6800/PCI/SSE2
  OpenGL Version    : 2.0.3
« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 02:56:31 PM by ads0529 »

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #25 on: April 03, 2007, 05:49:05 PM »
Initializing OpenGL graphics device at 1024x768 with 16-bit color...

Run in 32-bit.

ads0529

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #26 on: April 03, 2007, 06:07:02 PM »
I changed it to 32 bit in the launcher and the load times have not changed.

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #27 on: April 03, 2007, 06:17:42 PM »
I think I'll have to leave this one to Taylor then. It's not a problem I remember hearing of in a FS2_Open mod previously so it's probably something about our data that is to blame.

No idea what though.


You could try pressing CTRL + ALT + DELETE to bring up the task manager. Then go to the processes tab and set the processor affinity for the FS2_Open_3._6_9.exe to only one of your cores. I have heard complaints that this bug has resurfaced.

ads0529

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #28 on: April 03, 2007, 06:52:12 PM »
My processor is not dual core.

darklord3k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Extremely long load times in demo
« Reply #29 on: April 03, 2007, 07:48:42 PM »
I seem to have the same problem on this computer too. If it do wait for the first screen to go away i nodice it hangs for a bit on every little thing. If you highlight an option (for the first time) it hangs for a few seconds. if you go into the options it hangs for a good minitue. If you change or highlight a setting it hangs for a second.

Now this is the olny mod for freespace (out of Wing commander, Babylon project and freespace 2) where i have this problem. Looking through all the files I nodice that BtRL has one thing what the others don't. A big honking  VP file which has everything... (every other mod has split its VPs into sound, core, effects etc....) I don't know if this really hads anything to do with the problem but it seems plusable as the program has to go through the file for every little thing.

If i alt+tab then ctrl+alt+del out i nodice that the CPU usage is at 100% but the computer dosen't look like its doing anything (no blinking light on the box or anything)

anyway here is the FS2 log file and system specs


==========================================================================
DEBUG SPEW: No debug_filter.cfg found, so only general, error, and warning
categories can be shown and no debug_filter.cfg info will be saved.
==========================================================================
Passed cmdline options:
  -2d_poof
  -env
  -jpgtga
  -mipmap
  -missile_lighting
  -glow
  -nomotiondebris
  -spec
Building file index...
Searching root 'E:\games\btrl\demo\'
Searching root pack 'E:\games\btrl\demo\z_missions_BtRLDemo.vp'
Searching root pack 'E:\games\btrl\demo\z_root_BtRLDemo.vp'
Searching root 'f:\'
Found 4 roots and 3261 files.
Setting language to English
Initializing OpenAL...
  Using 'Generic Software' as OpenAL sound device...
  OpenAL Vendor     : Creative Labs Inc.
  OpenAL Renderer   : Software
  OpenAL Version    : 1.1

... OpenAL successfully initialized!
GR_CPU: Family 15, MMX=Yes
Initializing OpenGL graphics device at 1024x768 with 32-bit color...
  Initializing WGL...
  Requested WGL Video values = R: 8, G: 8, B: 8, depth: 24, double-buffer: 1
  Actual WGL Video values    = R: 8, G: 8, B: 8, depth: 24, double-buffer: 1
  OpenGL Vendor     : NVIDIA Corporation
  OpenGL Renderer   : GeForce FX 5500/PCI/SSE2
  OpenGL Version    : 2.0.3

  Using extension "GL_EXT_fog_coord".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_multitexture".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_texture_env_add".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_texture_compression".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_texture_env_combine".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_draw_range_elements".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat".
  Unable to find extension "GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_pixel_buffer_object".
  Unable to find extension "GL_APPLE_client_storage".
  Using extension "GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_framebuffer_object".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_texture_rectangle".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_bgra".
  Using extension "GL_ARB_texture_cube_map".
  Using extension "GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias".
  Found special extension function "wglSwapIntervalEXT".

  Max texture units: 4
  Max elements vertices: 4096
  Max elements indices: 4096
  Max texture size: 4096x4096
  Can use compressed textures: YES
  Texture compression available: YES
  Using trilinear texture filter.
... OpenGL init is complete!
Size of bitmap info = 705 KB
Size of bitmap extra info = 40 bytes
ANI cursorweb with size 20x20 (37.5% wasted)
GRAPHICS: Initializing default colors...
OpenGL: Created 512x512 FBO!
OpenGL: Reusing 512x512 FBO!
SCRIPTING: Beginning initialization sequence...
SCRIPTING: Beginning Lua initialization...
LUA: Opening LUA state...
LUA: Initializing base Lua libraries...
LUA: Performing global function/(library/object) name repeat check...
LUA: Performing library/object name repeat check...
LUA: Performing object/object name repeat check...
LUA: Performing library/library name repeat check...
LUA: Initializing library functions...
LUA: Initializing object functions...
SCRIPTING: Beginning main hook parse sequence....
Wokka!  Error opening file (scripting.tbl)!
Unable to parse scripting.tbl!  Code = 5.
SCRIPTING: Inititialization complete.
Using high memory settings...
Wokka!  Error opening file (interface.tbl)!
Unable to parse interface.tbl!
cf_get_file_list_preallocated looking for type=7, filter="*-sdf.tbm"
ANI 2_radar1 with size 170x170 (33.6% wasted)
Windoze reported 16 joysticks, we found 0
Current soundtrack set to -1 in event_music_reset_choices
cf_get_file_list_preallocated looking for type=7, filter="*-mus.tbm"
cf_get_file_list_preallocated looking for type=7, filter="*-mfl.tbm"
Wokka!  Error opening file (armor.tbl)!
Unable to parse armor.tbl!
cf_get_file_list_preallocated looking for type=7, filter="*-amr.tbm"
cf_get_file_list_preallocated looking for type=7, filter="*-wxp.tbm"
BMPMAN: Found EFF (exp20.eff) with 64 frames at 35 fps.
BMPMAN: Found EFF (ExpMissileHit1.eff) with 83 frames at 30 fps.
BMPMAN: Found EFF (M_trail_particle.eff) with 17 frames at 20 fps.
BMPMAN: Found EFF (bomb_flare.eff) with 86 frames at 24 fps.

Windows XP SP2
Intel Pentium 4 2.40 GHz
1 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce FX 5500 256 MB (updated to latest version)

BTW the pentium 4 processor is not a dual core (to the best of my knowlege)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 07:51:46 PM by darklord3k »