Author Topic: FS2 is horrible for Joystick  (Read 4047 times)

Imperator

  • Imperator has conquered!
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 473
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cylonbase.com/
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« on: February 27, 2007, 01:22:37 PM »
Ever since I've gotten my joystick I've had nothing but bad flying in FS2. The movement is so jerky, if I move the joystick a little it moves fine, but a bit further out and it just wrenches right round. I figure that it has to be FS2 because whether or not the sensitivity is on high or low it has the same crappy movement and the same goes for deadzone. I've used this joystick on some other games and it works fine for them e.g. X3: the movement is smooth and perfect.

I've tried everything I know and nothings' worked, I'm desperately trying to fly with mouse but it's just not the same. Can anyone help please?

EDIT: It's a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro
"Reality is Cylon technology obviously outstrips our own."
 


MatthewPapa

  • GWBB Admin
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 04:42:50 PM »
once u get used to it, you will fly much better IMO

i do fine with the same joystick, btw

Imperator

  • Imperator has conquered!
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 473
    • View Profile
    • http://www.cylonbase.com/
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2007, 04:47:36 PM »
That's what I keep telling myself, it's just weird though, it works so much better for other games.
"Reality is Cylon technology obviously outstrips our own."
 


Menumorut

  • Crazy Pilot
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2007, 05:17:20 PM »
when i tried a joy first with fs it had an opposite effect from what you're describing; it turned the ship really slow. maybe it's the interaction beetween the joy and the game.

Mobius

  • The Southern Cross
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 902
    • View Profile
    • http://www.hard-light.net
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2007, 06:56:41 PM »
Exact.

The spacecraft is more meneuverable when you use the mousestick...

Nuke

  • Slacker
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/nukemod-cos/
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2007, 01:52:03 AM »
i think the problem more to do with the fact that joysticks today all suck. even the x52 has some ramping issues. back in the day of analog sticks, most everything used high quality 100k ohm variable resistors. theese days they use cheap resistors with much smaller range.

the last stick which i remember as being extremely accurate, was my first gen sidewinder force feedback. it actually used hall effect sensors for the x and y axes. hall sensors are typically used in industrial grade sticks as they dont wear out like variable resistors. i dont think there are currently any hall effect sticks for gaming.
Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of the human mind

StarSlayer

  • Here comes the Fuzz
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
    • View Profile
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2007, 02:38:33 AM »
well the 3d pro is a piece of crap, Ive got one, but really all it takes is practice, i couldn't hit a raider to save my life when i switched from mouse to stick, now i can dogfight raiders on insane difficulty, its just building experience with it.
"Exodus from Genesis"
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Flappy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
FS2 is horrible for Joystick
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2007, 07:37:16 AM »
Hey NUKE,
     How's the Shop-Rite in Douglas?
     Also,ain't no lie re. the X52 I got one and it's a right POS in the BSG Mod.
 Give it the tiniest 1/4" nudge and its' a Dream,any further and you're all over! It actually has to do with the saitek settings,read more at the IL-2 Forums on Ubi. The good news is it can be fixed since they are Hall sensor Pots,I'm pretty sure it's a matter of Calibration within the X52 profiler or through Windows Game Controller Properties.
"It\'s not the size of the Waves,it\'s the motion of the Ocean"