Author Topic: Updatery  (Read 34397 times)

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
Updatery
« Reply #45 on: May 05, 2005, 01:53:18 AM »
Figures, this. When I finally get the model fixed (through external means) Ransom doesn't visit his own forum. :rolleyes:
This is a signature.

Duelron1001

  • FS:NA mod leader
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/fsna/
Updatery
« Reply #46 on: May 05, 2005, 02:08:08 AM »
last i hear of him we was changeing his campaign so it didn't use your ship.
Leader of the Freespace: A New Age TC mod

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
Updatery
« Reply #47 on: May 05, 2005, 02:23:53 AM »
He said he *may* do that if it wasn't fixed soon... and now it is. :p

If he did, then serves him right. :p
This is a signature.

Duelron1001

  • FS:NA mod leader
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/fsna/
Updatery
« Reply #48 on: May 05, 2005, 05:28:52 AM »
he said to me: next time you see me online I'll have a campaign done. That was before the ship got fixed, but also after you tryed. So I don't know what hes going to do, it's upto him; i'll be happy either way to play his campaign.
Leader of the Freespace: A New Age TC mod

Ransom Arceihn

  • Syrophoenician
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://www.the-avatar.com
Updatery
« Reply #49 on: May 05, 2005, 09:47:25 AM »
Yarr, I did switch it so it used a different ship, but now the Kelpie is back in and everything is as it should be.

BUT THE NEWS IS NOT ALL FLOWERS AND CANDY!

While 100% finished now there are some bugs with certain new sexps which kinda break it (they were working before..) so I'm going to have to withhold it until those are fixed. I get the feeling God does not want to see this campaign released as not only this, but earlier when I was just finished fixing the missions back with the Kelpie in them there was a blackout which lasted for a couple hours and when it came back all the files were corrupt. Hooray for .bak files.

Taristin

  • Rock out! (Cock optional)
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1519
    • View Profile
    • http://www.BlueScalie.net
Updatery
« Reply #50 on: May 08, 2005, 02:55:37 AM »
Why not recommend usage with an older build that works properly? Not all of use use the latest build anyways, since there are so many bugs popping up all the bloody time.

Also, you should upload the campaign now, so that you don't lose the backups too.
This is a signature.

Ransom Arceihn

  • Syrophoenician
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://www.the-avatar.com
Updatery
« Reply #51 on: May 08, 2005, 09:09:16 PM »
I did try the older build which worked properly, and upon closer inspection the bug seems to have been there since the beginning. It's by some bizarre coincidence I didn't notice the bug until now. It looks like you're going to have to wait for it to get fixed.

Also I've already copied the campaign over to another comp which is not Windows and therefore logically will not explode at the worst possible moment.

phreak

  • Slave the Planet
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Updatery
« Reply #52 on: May 08, 2005, 09:56:08 PM »
since its when the sun is shining, can you possibly make a duplicate sun entry with the No Glare tag and use it for that mission?

Ransom Arceihn

  • Syrophoenician
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://www.the-avatar.com
Updatery
« Reply #53 on: May 08, 2005, 11:41:08 PM »
I'm not sure that's the problem though, because it also happens when the sun's not even within your FOV. Just if your ship is pointing toward that 180 degrees of the background, or something. But I'll try that.

Ransom Arceihn

  • Syrophoenician
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://www.the-avatar.com
Updatery
« Reply #54 on: May 09, 2005, 11:10:31 AM »
Uh, well now I just feel stupid. How do you give tags to a sun?

phreak

  • Slave the Planet
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Updatery
« Reply #55 on: May 09, 2005, 02:14:55 PM »
you need to make a new entry for the sun in stars.tbl.  copy the needed sun entry and add $NoGlare: to the end

Code: [Select]

$Sun: SunWhiteNG
$Sunglow: Sunglow01
$SunRGBI: 1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0
$NoGlare:

Cobra

  • Hiss.
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
Updatery
« Reply #56 on: May 09, 2005, 03:07:23 PM »
oh boy...
Fan of every space game on the planet.
"When 900 years old you reach, look as good, you will not. Hmm?" -Yoda

Pathways - Nothing Is As It Seems

GTI: Rebellion - Where\'s your loyalty?

Ransom Arceihn

  • Syrophoenician
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://www.the-avatar.com
Updatery
« Reply #57 on: May 09, 2005, 03:20:40 PM »
Okay I've done that, but the new entry won't appear in FRED and if I manually put it into the mission there's simply no sun at all.

Cobra

  • Hiss.
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
Updatery
« Reply #58 on: May 09, 2005, 03:24:13 PM »
you might have the wrong build.
Fan of every space game on the planet.
"When 900 years old you reach, look as good, you will not. Hmm?" -Yoda

Pathways - Nothing Is As It Seems

GTI: Rebellion - Where\'s your loyalty?

phreak

  • Slave the Planet
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Updatery
« Reply #59 on: May 09, 2005, 11:05:48 PM »
no its been in the codebase since 2002

RA: can you post the entry?
« Last Edit: May 09, 2005, 11:08:31 PM by phreak »