Author Topic: FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD  (Read 421000 times)

MatthewPapa

  • GWBB Admin
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #135 on: September 25, 2006, 12:28:14 PM »
thread updated with the basics for now

more updates will come later today

RedStar1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #136 on: September 25, 2006, 07:00:12 PM »
M Papa; Hi I'm new here. Like you didn't know, If I follow your instructions at the top of this thread will I have any problems with the Store bought FS2 or any of the Hard-Light modding? I'm an old Descent3 player and level builder and would like to do that type stuff here with fs2. I will most likely be cannon fodder in this area though as I'm pretty slow.

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #137 on: September 25, 2006, 09:39:38 PM »
OK I have tried and tried to get a server working.  I have tried both a standalone and a regular server on 3 different machines.  Disabled anti-virus, firewall, port scanned to make sure 7117 and 7808 were open but still nothing.  I can see the server over my local network but as soon as I go to dial up to see if it shows up on the internet there are no servers in the list.  I had 3 set up at the same time (2 on my lan and one on dial up) none showed.  I don't think it is anything I am doing wrong and I have run servers before.  Is there anyone that can see a server?
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers

taylor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
    • View Profile
    • http://icculus.org/~taylor
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #138 on: September 25, 2006, 10:43:59 PM »
@FUBAR-BDHR:
It works, I've seen my own servers as being available during testing (when I didn't actually want them to show up :)).

In fact there are 3 servers showing right now, 2 of them from you it would appear, though on different IPs.  If you still don't seen them then let me know what builds are you running (we did actually change FSO to return to retail compatibility, which means that it's games will not show to older builds).  If you don't see anything from in the game itself then just check http://fs2netd.game-warden.com/?area=activegames and it will show you any active servers.

Oh and you don't need anything but port 7808.  Port 7117 is a non-default port and anyone using that (or any other non-default port without very good reason) deserves a kick in the head.

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #139 on: September 25, 2006, 11:10:14 PM »
Well got the standalone figured out.  Needed to put -standalone in custom flags in the launcher instead of just running fs2 -standalone.

Still having problems with my other computer hosting but that may have something to do with NAT on the router.

Well there is a standalone out there now so we'll see if I can fill up the bug report file.
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers

MatthewPapa

  • GWBB Admin
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #140 on: September 26, 2006, 02:12:25 AM »
this thread has now been updated with tons of new clarifications, pictures and information

check it out

Martellato

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #141 on: September 26, 2006, 06:50:30 AM »
Quote from: MatthewPapa;41326
thread updated with the basics for now

more updates will come later today
The port-forwarding screenshot was a good touch man. :yes:

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #142 on: September 26, 2006, 08:20:31 PM »
Also remember when hosting to lower your firewall settings.  That was my problem with the other server I was working on.  Had firewall set to keep my machine invisible.

OK now for another standalone problem.  Ran one all night last night.  Was still showing up when i went to be.  When I got up server was still running but did not show up in the lists until I restarted it.  Any ideas on this one?
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers

taylor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
    • View Profile
    • http://icculus.org/~taylor
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #143 on: September 26, 2006, 09:23:20 PM »
Quote from: FUBAR-BDHR;41485
OK now for another standalone problem.  Ran one all night last night.  Was still showing up when i went to be.  When I got up server was still running but did not show up in the lists until I restarted it.  Any ideas on this one?

I'm not sure which build you are running, but the standalone server is in a very sad state at the moment.  Karajorma and I have been working on that (and Martellato has been brave enough to have a go at testing it all), but those changes are just for FSO and though OEB wouldn't suffer from all of the problems (since some were strictly FSO related), it would suffer from quite a few of them.

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #144 on: September 26, 2006, 11:01:16 PM »
I'm running launcher 5.2 and fs2.exe 1.3.6.  Nothing else special.  Just had my other server do the same thing was running but would not show up in the list until restarted.  No errors on screen but I haven't looked throught the whole log file yet.
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers

taylor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
    • View Profile
    • http://icculus.org/~taylor
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #145 on: September 26, 2006, 11:15:08 PM »
Quote from: FUBAR-BDHR;41495
I'm running launcher 5.2 and fs2.exe 1.3.6.  Nothing else special.  Just had my other server do the same thing was running but would not show up in the list until restarted.  No errors on screen but I haven't looked throught the whole log file yet.

You're running OEB then.  Not really any help I can offer in that case.  It's going to have the same retail and FS2NetD bugs that FSO does (or rather, did), but it doesn't get all of the fixes.  You'll have to report the problems to Tom and get them addressed that way.

MatthewPapa

  • GWBB Admin
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #146 on: September 26, 2006, 11:43:52 PM »
i no longer officially offer the OEB for download. it has been removed from my FAQ, and thus we no longer officially support it (although we never really did in the first place).

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #147 on: September 27, 2006, 06:29:32 AM »
Ok so what should I be running as a standalone?  Link please.
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers

taylor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
    • View Profile
    • http://icculus.org/~taylor
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #148 on: September 27, 2006, 09:32:01 AM »
Quote from: FUBAR-BDHR;41523
Ok so what should I be running as a standalone?  Link please.

The next FSO build.  Should be out this weekend.

FUBAR-BDHR

  • Master Drunk
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • http://www.165thbdhr.com
FAQ + How to get started using FS2NetD
« Reply #149 on: September 27, 2006, 08:03:10 PM »
OK but what do I need to get it running now?  I downloaded the 3.6.9 RC7 but it won't run.  Get a failed to read flag file message when I select it in the launcher.  Is there more I need to download?
FUBAR

Master Drunk of the 165th Beer Drinking Hell Raisers