Author Topic: Setting up multiplayer (FS2Net)  (Read 7351 times)

[dw]-hunter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • http://www.teamwars.org
Setting up multiplayer (FS2Net)
« on: April 02, 2006, 01:45:36 PM »
For those of you interested in Freespace 2 multiplayer... here are some steps for setting up Freespace 2 in multiplayer. Note: no matter what build you play, you dont have much of a choice on graphics, your going to need to run retail graphics if you wish to play games on valid hosts. Toms build is the most stable build and probably your best bet if you want to play multi.

---Setting up Toms build---
Step 1: Go here to register an account.

Step 2: download Toms build and the fs2open_pxo.cfg files.

Step 3: Save the FS2.exe to the C:\Games\FreeSpace2\ (default directory)

Step 4: Save the fs2open_pxo.cfg to the C:\Games\FreeSpace2\Data (default directory)

Step 5: Make sure you dont have any mods or Media VPs in the main directory.

Step 6: Setup your network using the retail launcher (example shown below)


Step 7: Launch FS2 and Play!


---Setting up FS2_Open (SCP)---
Step 1: Go here to register an account.

Step 2a: Download the CVS Builds and the fs2open_pxo.cfg files.

Step 2b: If you wish to download the Media VP's download them here ( keep in mind you wont be using these if you play multiplayer ).

Step 2c: Place the Media VP's in the C:\Games\FreeSpace2\Media_VPs\ directory (create this)

Step 2d: use the launcher to activate the Media VP's when playing single, example shown below on how to do this. To undo to run multi click "NO MOD".




Step 3: Place the FS2_Open executables in C:\Games\FreeSpace2\ (default directory).

Step 4: Place the and the fs2open_pxo.cfg in C:\Games\FreeSpace2\data\ (default directory).

Step 5: Make sure you dont have any mods running.

Step 6: Setup your network (example shown below)


Launch FS2_Open and goto Options (press F2) and hit the multi tab (shown below) and type in your account information.




Step 7: Play!
-----------------------------------------------------------

If you encounter any problems Contact me or see other threads for more details.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2006, 12:24:59 AM by [dw]-hunter »

johnebchief

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2006, 08:43:11 AM »
i guess fs2 is dead

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2006, 09:32:58 AM »
You guess wrong.

MechMantis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2006, 03:15:48 AM »
EDIT: Nevermind. I'm an idiot, I should have looked at the other threads before posting. Sorry.

FOX2PRO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2006, 02:32:11 AM »
How do I get that .cfg file? The link is dead.

Martellato

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2006, 03:40:23 AM »
I think I answered that question for ya here..
http://www.game-warden.com/forum/showthread.php?p=40917&posted=1#post40917

EDIT: Thx shotman, *link fixed*.  ...Taylor's instruction below work too.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2006, 04:46:22 AM by Martellato »

Shotman

  • *oOoOoOoOoOoOoOoOo*
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2006, 08:24:03 PM »
That link is dead too now because of new server. Here is new cfg file, I uploaded it on Box:
http://www.box.net/public/nvjkrjzu4b
"It\'s better to burn out than to fade away..."  Kurt Cobain, Nirvana

Shotman

  • *oOoOoOoOoOoOoOoOo*
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2006, 08:27:37 PM »
Here is new multi cfg file, I uploaded it on Box:
http://www.box.net/public/nvjkrjzu4b
"It\'s better to burn out than to fade away..."  Kurt Cobain, Nirvana

taylor

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 397
    • View Profile
    • http://icculus.org/~taylor
Setting up for multiplayer
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2006, 10:12:18 PM »
Quote from: Shotman;41135
That link is dead too now because of new server. Here is new cfg file, I uploaded it on Box:

Still the wrong IP. :)

I had to change the IP from what I initially set everything up for, so the correct IP is now 64.92.160.250.

I just now updated http://www.game-warden.com/fs2open_pxo.cfg with the correct IP however, so it's safe to just get the file from there.  Once FSO 3.6.9 comes out though, the cfg file will probably be updated to use the domain name rather than an IP.  It will be incompatible with older versions of FSO and Tom's build however.  But Tom can update his code to support the new feature if he chooses (which he seriously needs to do anyway to get the various FS2NetD bug fixes before they are no longer optional).