Author Topic: The Ask a Modeler Thread.  (Read 39864 times)

Star Dragon

  • EDF Brigadier General
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #60 on: December 27, 2006, 05:30:28 AM »
Excuse my bad attitude, but I just wasted bout 7-8 hours on a turreting job. (I told Axem 5 but I just looked at the clock again 2-3 till midnight, meh)

This is friggen pissing me off. The Ikazuchi .cob normally converts no problem. I decided to use today to get all the turrets done. I placed 14 rotating hemispheres on top, 8 missile tubes in various places, and 32 defense beam turret style things all over the sides.

Now on conversion PCS dies (surprised?) and Modelview say too many chunks.

What the heck is a "chunk" and how can I reduce them? Do I need to start taking turrets off?

I has a suspicion it's beacause of all the loose parts of the model. I tried union to weld objects together into "one part" but nothing happens...


ARGH!

« Last Edit: December 27, 2006, 05:33:29 AM by Star Dragon »
"Don\'t think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!"
 
 Coordinator Robotech Mod II
Coordinator FS2 Star Fleet Academy

My powers outside the Robotech section are weak. (as it should be)

Part-time fringe member of the cult of Karajorma :naughty:
 

Flipside

  • On a Drama Break
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #61 on: January 02, 2007, 04:07:52 PM »
If it's SCP, the parts should have no effect whatsoever, if it's not then they may well affect things.

Chunks are 'sections', so a turret may well be considered a 'chunk', I think FS2 can handle the higher number of turrets, I'm pretty sure PCS can too (remember to give it a good 5 mins to convert on some models, it may look like it's hung but might actually be working).

It might also be something to do with the hierarchy making the converter get caught in a loop, I used to keep forgetting to put the terminating light in with the main hull mesh, and that caused all kinds of havoc ;)

Can you post an image of the Hierarchy?

Star Dragon

  • EDF Brigadier General
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #62 on: January 03, 2007, 12:59:11 AM »
I know I had one but I'll post it when I get off work tomorrow morning. Basically the hierarchy is gonna be longer than the screen in Trueview and that's just the normal parts.
"Don\'t think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!"
 
 Coordinator Robotech Mod II
Coordinator FS2 Star Fleet Academy

My powers outside the Robotech section are weak. (as it should be)

Part-time fringe member of the cult of Karajorma :naughty:
 

TheFili

  • Paranoid last CSS member
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #63 on: January 04, 2007, 10:34:19 PM »
Hi,
I am an absolute noob at working with FS2, but I just wanted to give it a try. So I fooled around with an older plane model I still had on my drive - butt-ugly and one single mesh, but it serves the purpose (until I find time to make a better one).
Now, I did some texturing with TrueSpace and saved the object as well as the scene, but now I can't get any program to convert it into POF.
POF Constructor for example tells me "You forgot to group those objects."
Can anyone please tell my why?
~Colonial Secret Service~
Ex perturbatio ad excidium.


My BSG vids:
http://www.youtube.com/TheFili

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #64 on: January 04, 2007, 10:37:48 PM »
Basically PCS won't convert a model unless it has a light glued to it. Check the turretting tutorial in my FAQ for more info on how to glue things if you don't already know.

TheFili

  • Paranoid last CSS member
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #65 on: January 05, 2007, 11:48:38 AM »
*slaps forehead* Ah. OK. Now I see it. And now, of course, I find the Hardlight Wiki where the exact mistake is listed.
Thanks, your advice took care of the POFCS problem. But apparently this model is not suitable for FS2. I'll have to model one specifically, I guess.
~Colonial Secret Service~
Ex perturbatio ad excidium.


My BSG vids:
http://www.youtube.com/TheFili

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #66 on: January 12, 2007, 04:34:11 AM »
i recently made an arwing moddel in bark basic, and exported to a .X... and used 3d explorer to export to a COB. now i have one problem....gunpoints. finding coordinates for all 4 guns is impossible in truespace and i need a decent method. after all... arwings cant have turrets >.<

FusionStorm

  • This is my BOOMSTICK!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/weather_op/pageone.html?1113100476773
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #67 on: January 12, 2007, 04:43:00 AM »
Gunpoints are created while the file is a POF, in program like POFCS or Modelview.

My favorite way of adding gunpoints is using POFCS and Modelview, and the eyepoint as a marker to where to put my coordinates.
Four Score and so many months ago, us cylons kicked your colonial butts.

Want to learn Truespace 3.2?: My Tutorial

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #68 on: January 12, 2007, 04:44:15 AM »


seems im facing a similar problem as with that other ship... i cant find coordinates for guns, and one side is always wirefreame.
« Last Edit: January 12, 2007, 05:01:08 AM by takashi »

KewlToyZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 507
    • View Profile
    • http://www.kewltoyz.com
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #69 on: May 16, 2008, 06:09:54 PM »
Just create gunpoints from there.
Click the icon on the left to the right side of the dialog near "Slots".
Then simply adjust the numbers until they appear where you want them.
Start incrementally by setting X, Y, Z all equal to one and see where the point moves to to get an idea where it is positioning.
Adjust each axis accordingly individually so you can tell which direction you need to move to.
These numbers can also be negative, (i.e. -0.875)
Hope this helps :p
Nothing bothers me I\'m already disturbed.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #70 on: May 16, 2008, 07:49:13 PM »
After an entire year I think he's either found the solution himself or given up. :rolleyes:

KewlToyZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 507
    • View Profile
    • http://www.kewltoyz.com
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #71 on: June 14, 2008, 04:29:03 AM »
LOL Yeah I wreak of necro stupidity at times :p
Is HLP the best place to find out how to texture a 3ds file for POF conversion?
I'm using Rhino for most of my modeling then installing the 2009 3DS Max demo to try and texture it and finally my ancient 3DS Max 4 to do the POF conversion.

I just wanted to add some bare bones capital ships to the Arch Angel MOD for BtRL.
3rd party less than canon stuff. Skull already gave me permission as long as I show him the stuff first. Give you guys a break from people asking for updates or more ships too.
I figure I got at least another month or two before having a stable ship for a mission though at least. Just having fun with the hobby like building models except I get to fly them in a simulator
Not to mention blow them up over and over! :D
Nothing bothers me I\'m already disturbed.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

takashi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1108
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #72 on: June 16, 2008, 02:10:19 AM »
Quote from: karajorma;100343
After an entire year I think he's either found the solution himself or given up. :rolleyes:


I figured it out, and went on to make somewhat better models. the wireframe problem WAS normalflipping from mirroring in blender, and the model was made of extruded off of and scaled cubes.

Now i use Cylinders and greebles =D

KewlToyZ

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 507
    • View Profile
    • http://www.kewltoyz.com
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #73 on: August 31, 2008, 02:25:18 AM »
Question regarding Glass panels, Am I supposed to make a texture for it and UV map it in Lithunwrap for it to show up clear in PCS2? All other 3D programs it shows up clear:
i.e. Deep Exploration, TS 7.6, Rhino 4, Maya 6.5, but when I get it into a cob for PCS it shows up a dark grey opaque mesh? I was wondering if it had to be a closed Mesh polygon to work or if it can be a simple mesh plane.?

Also, I noticed in Lithunwrap it lists -Z (negative Z axis) as front,
and my modeling program (Rhino) says -Y (negative y axis) is the front.
When I brought my model into PCS2 all new points (gun, thrusters, glow, etc..)
were always showing the direction ray pointing 90 degrees to the left of the pilots view? That would be +X?
Which axis is front in a POF for PCS2?

I just want to work things out so my preferences in my default modeling template is meters and always showing the proper axis as the front.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2008, 05:28:43 AM by KewlToyZ »
Nothing bothers me I\'m already disturbed.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Star Dragon

  • EDF Brigadier General
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1098
    • View Profile
The Ask a Modeler Thread.
« Reply #74 on: August 31, 2008, 04:51:27 PM »
Scooby Doo on HLP is the one to ask as he's a glass/cockpit expert...

This is Getter Robo G...
"Don\'t think of it as being out-numbered, think of it as having a WIDE target selection!"
 
 Coordinator Robotech Mod II
Coordinator FS2 Star Fleet Academy

My powers outside the Robotech section are weak. (as it should be)

Part-time fringe member of the cult of Karajorma :naughty: