Author Topic: Are Squads/Clans still alive here?  (Read 5612 times)

[NME]TR0LL

  • Troller
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nmeclan.com
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« on: December 07, 2005, 02:28:17 AM »
My clan and I are going to be comming to FS2, soon, and I want to know if there will be people to fight. Lets get this community started.

FusionStorm

  • This is my BOOMSTICK!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1495
    • View Profile
    • http://www.geocities.com/weather_op/pageone.html?1113100476773
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2005, 02:30:20 AM »
Lets see, I know of two, [DW] and I can't remember the other one, but you might have to wait a while, our Admin is trying to get FS2Dnet back up, but it's giving him some problems.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2005, 03:04:58 AM by FusionStorm »
Four Score and so many months ago, us cylons kicked your colonial butts.

Want to learn Truespace 3.2?: My Tutorial

[NME]TR0LL

  • Troller
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nmeclan.com
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2005, 03:37:34 AM »
Yeah thats what I read. I hope its soon, the more i pimp this to my firends the more they want to play, already around 10 people for sure (30 - 40 in the clan)

MatthewPapa

  • GWBB Admin
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2005, 04:59:58 AM »
it will be up next weekend for sure guys, i just lost the link to the source code and I am waiting for Taylor to resend it to me so i can compile it and run it. It *should* be that simple. Meanwhile be warming up on singleplayer STV

Foxer

  • Extended Range
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
    • http://www.freespace.pl
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2005, 04:43:14 PM »
{303} is still active. We have flights and trainings via IP (while NetD is down) all the time.
As I know, [DW] is still around and few ppl from other clans.
Greetings, Foxer / {303}Foxer / FOXeR_mk
TerraNet FreeSpace.PL Forum | Squadron 303

[NME]TR0LL

  • Troller
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nmeclan.com
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2005, 05:44:03 PM »
Excelent, hopefully we can attract some more people to this scene. its lookin a little sparce :)

[dw]-hunter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • http://www.teamwars.org
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2005, 07:13:55 PM »
[DARKWING] ( [DW] )is commin back, we have been playin IP games on my host. were going to have a big get together this weekend, hostin on 24.5.104.155 ill be on there all weekend waiting for players. drop by and we will have a game

[NME]TR0LL

  • Troller
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • http://www.nmeclan.com
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2005, 09:11:22 PM »
Sounds fun, you will totaly own me, but I may just stop by, however, I have SCP installed thats not a prob is it?

Nuke

  • Slacker
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/nukemod-cos/
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #8 on: December 07, 2005, 10:23:29 PM »
im find myself ocasionally wanting to play multi freespace. now im nowhere near clan skill levels, and i spend more time making mods than actually playing. but if there are fsopen servers, it would be nice to know where they are. if you dont mind an unskilled noob dropping in that is :D
Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of the human mind

[DW]-Gladiator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #9 on: December 08, 2005, 07:27:57 AM »
hi , would be cool  to have  a new clan to fight vs ^^

we are thinking to reoganize an Fs ladder , maybee when fsdnet is up again , neanwhile you can also check http://www.teamwars.com  for multi activity

cheers

Gladi

[dw]-hunter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • http://www.teamwars.org
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2005, 07:31:28 PM »
Quote from: '[NME
TR0LL']Sounds fun, you will totaly own me, but I may just stop by, however, I have SCP installed thats not a prob is it?


well have been playin the retail build (not toms but the original build) on IP games, when we go back to fs2net games, we will run toms, if you run scp you need to delete some vps that modify the tables of the game, i believe its the mv models or something, which ever one contains the new models and new tables, the new tables are cheap anyways, kayser kills in 3 hits on erinyes.. :hoppingma CHEAP!!! but yes scp will work, but it will crash if you dont have the right files deleted, they cause issues to toms build. when you join the game anyways with those tables cause we are notified by a "x player has hacked tables message" ;) we would like everyone to have fair tables so the game is fun, we all hate hackers.:no: We usually play weekends at 7PM GMT on till all the europeans goto sleep, which is 95% of the multi players. You can goto this thread that will tell you the next game time and game times to come http://www.darkwing.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6166#6166
« Last Edit: December 12, 2005, 07:37:10 PM by [dw]-hunter »

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #11 on: December 13, 2005, 11:49:04 AM »
You don't need to delete your media.vp files at all. You just need to have installed them in a better fashion than most people do in the first place.

Take a look here

[dw]-hunter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 567
    • View Profile
    • http://www.teamwars.org
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #12 on: December 13, 2005, 07:57:59 PM »
well kara, could u ellaborate on where to put those files?

Nuke

  • Slacker
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
    • http://www.game-warden.com/nukemod-cos/
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #13 on: December 13, 2005, 09:31:14 PM »
just change their extensions to something other than vp.
Thou shalt not make a machine in the likeness of the human mind

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Are Squads/Clans still alive here?
« Reply #14 on: December 13, 2005, 11:03:40 PM »
Quote from: '[dw
-hunter']well kara, could u ellaborate on where to put those files?

I presume you mean the mod.ini files cause I was hopefully clear enough about the media.vp files (in a folder called mediaVPs. Can't get much clearer than that).

For someone like you probably won't need them. You don't play any singleplayer mods so you have little use for them. If however you're like me and have say Delelict, Transcend and Inferno and want to use the media.vp files with all 3 and still want to play multiplayer you'd make copies of both mod,ini and the bmp and stick them in the Derelict, Transcend and Inferno folders.

The mod ini I posted on HLP does 2 things basically. It says FS2.bmp is a pretty picture you should show whenever someone clicks on the mod tab of the launcher. The more important thing it says is "Look in \Freespace2\MediaVPs before you look in \Freespace2 but after you've looked in whatever folder you found me in" All it basically does is point at the media.vp files. FS2_open pretty much will act from then on as if the media.vp files were in \Freespace2 which is where you have them now.

The beauty of this is that Retail, Toms Old Build and FS2_Open with no mod selected won't look there and so act as if the media.vps aren't on your PC at all. :D

Quote from: Nuke
just change their extensions to something other than vp.

That's the easiest way to do it on a temporary basis but if you're constantly swapping between the campaign you work on, a couple that you're currently playing and want to occassionally play on multiplayer then it's about 100 times less hassle to just use mod.ini files. Maybe I make them sound too hard but I could set up a brand new install of FS2_Open to use them in less than a minute. It would probably take you longer to rename the files :)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2005, 11:16:08 PM by karajorma »