Author Topic: Crash with error  (Read 7898 times)

Agent24

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Crash with error
« on: October 30, 2005, 02:40:59 AM »
Trying to play "transcend", I have got up to around the 3rd mission and I get this:

Error: Can't open file
File:model/modelread.cpp
Line: 1682
[This filename points to the location of a file on the computer that built this executable]

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------

Can anyone help with this?

Nuclear

  • Admiral o\' th\'Black
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 595
    • View Profile
Crash with error
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2005, 02:51:09 AM »
That would mean you're missing this model file, methinks. If you downloaded it, remember to put it in the Transcend directory under Transcend/data/models.

Ransom Arceihn

  • Syrophoenician
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 348
    • View Profile
    • http://www.the-avatar.com
Crash with error
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2005, 05:00:20 AM »
Or if you can't use HTL models, use this replacement table file, which goes in Transcend/data/tables.

Objekt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Having crash with the same error
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2005, 06:45:43 AM »
Is it a bad sign that I don't *HAVE* a freespace2\Transcend\data\Models folder?  I have these:

freespace2\Transcend\data\cache
freespace2\Transcend\data\movies
freespace2\Transcend\data\players

but that's it, thus no place to put the ships.tbl file. :eek2:

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Crash with error
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2005, 10:23:47 AM »
Not at all. Just simply create a new folder and put it in there.

What has happened here is that Transcend was built for use with the mv_models.vp file. The file allows you to use high poly models in the game which look much better than the standard FS2 models.

If you don't have that have that file you have two choices. Add the model manually (nuclear's post) or add a table file that tells the game to use the original version (Ransom's post).

Since you don't have any need for either of those files unless you have the particular problem you've encountered there was no need for you to have either of the folders they would go into until now. :)
« Last Edit: December 23, 2005, 10:27:08 AM by karajorma »

Objekt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Well, That's a relief
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2005, 06:49:38 AM »
Now, can anyone tell me what "Smart Shields" is?  I know it's an option under "Features" in the Freespace SCP Launcher version 5.3, but there seems to be no documentation anywhere, at least not that I can find.

karajorma

  • He is watching YOU
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5268
    • View Profile
Crash with error
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2005, 10:02:50 AM »
Smart shields means that your shields recharge intelligently. At the moment if your front shields are intact and all three other quadrants are gone the game will still waste 1/4 of your energy output recharging the front shield.

Smart shields means that the energy goes where it's needed.

Pizdec

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Freespace 2 error :/
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2007, 07:01:56 PM »
i keep getting this error in the middle of a mission:

Error: Can't open file
File:C:\projects\freespace2\code\Model\ModelRead.cpp
Line: 1198

Call stack:
------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------


someone plz help ><

Fisk

  • _
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 49
    • View Profile
Crash with error
« Reply #8 on: April 27, 2008, 06:15:07 PM »
It's the same issue. So, download this and place the ships.tbl file inside the archive to \transcend\data\tables.
lulz