Game Warden Forums

Freespace => General Freespace => Topic started by: MatthewPapa on June 24, 2005, 08:41:36 PM

Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: MatthewPapa on June 24, 2005, 08:41:36 PM
Well, I just made like $400 doing a networking job. Good stuff. But here is the deal, I really need to upgrade my core system (video, CPU and mobo) from what I already have.

AMD XP 3200+ @ 2.7 GHZ
Asus A7N8X-deluxe, SATA RAID etc etc
Ge force FX 5700LE

My budget is $400. Tell me what I should get. I am thinking AMD but let me know if I should be thinking differently.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: DaBrain on June 25, 2005, 12:52:31 AM
Well... your CPU had pretty much power already.

The mobo seams to be ok too.

I don't think you will need to upgrade these two componets very soon,
Your gfx card isn't fast enough to keep up with your system.

I suggest t buy a 6800 GT or a X800xl/pro with 256 MB ram. Your system will be fast enough for all games for a long time...

Save the remaining money for an update in a few years, when it makes more sense.

Edit: If you have less than one GB ram,you should upgrade to at least one GB ram. ;)
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Duelron1001 on June 25, 2005, 12:54:19 AM
get a new video card, and as long as you have 1 gb of ram you shouldn't have a problem.

my system (AMD 3200+ (2.2 ghz), x800 XT, 512 mb RAM, 400 GB SATA RAID 0 array) is more then able to handle all moden games. i run everything on the highest settings expect for textures as they require more ram then what i have. Untill programs and OSs are ready for a 64 bit duel core CPU there isn't much point upgrading.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Taristin on June 25, 2005, 01:10:03 AM
 :D (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130234)<----!!!!
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: MatthewPapa on June 25, 2005, 01:59:29 AM
Ok, interesting for you guys to say that I only need to upgrade my card....though it makes perfect sense. I am just a little reluctant to get AGP.

*goes to shop for a card*

EDIT: Dang these new cards are expensive.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Taristin on June 25, 2005, 02:02:51 AM
Quote from: Raa
:D (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130234)<----!!!!

^
|
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Axem on June 25, 2005, 02:17:17 AM
Quote
this card looks very nice i ordered 2 so i can get sli action going, and for the guy who said they its not very impressive remember the 6800 ultras are CPU limited so these are probally very limited b...


Somebody's rolling in the wealth...
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Taristin on June 25, 2005, 02:38:48 AM
Ain't it nice?

I would like to be so wealthy.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Cobra on June 25, 2005, 04:30:00 AM
start a career building computers. :p

i'm actually thinking of getting into that myself. now, if i can just get mom to buy some parts... and a shell...
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: DaBrain on June 25, 2005, 11:55:28 AM
Quote from: MatthewPapa
Ok, interesting for you guys to say that I only need to upgrade my card....though it makes perfect sense. I am just a little reluctant to get AGP.

*goes to shop for a card*

EDIT: Dang these new cards are expensive.



When you buy a new CPU and mobo later, the gfx card will be too slow and outdated to match the speed of your new components...

Well, you could buy a 6800 non-Ultra. It's pretty fast. Fast enough to work well together with your system :)

With a bit luck, you can even unlock the pipelines on the card... It more like a GT if it works. (It worked for my LE... so happy ;) )
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Roberto88h on June 25, 2005, 08:02:54 PM
As said before, upgrade to 1GB of RAM if haven't already and get a new videocard.

My personal recommendation is a 6800 non-gt/ultra. They can be had for under $200USD and even have the possibility of unlocking extra pipelines and vertex shaders to make it almost as fast as a GT.  With that and a little overclocking and you got a much better card for a much lower price.

Also, even if nothing unlocks,you still have a very powerful card. Even at stock settings it will blow your 5700 away.

Upgrade to 1GB of RAM and get a 6800nu and you'll be all set for quite a while.

Good luck with the upgrade! :)
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 09, 2005, 01:15:28 AM
http://store.yahoo.com/directron/pvt40knd.html (http://store.yahoo.com/directron/pvt40knd.html)

I just got my 6800, its really fast! Now how do I go about safely unlocking those 4 extra pipelines?
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Duelron1001 on July 09, 2005, 06:00:39 AM
i do belive it's done via flashing it with a different bios version, although i don't know anymore then that; also i belive that i maybe only done on set brands/batchs (which could be so that stores can't buy them cheaper then flash them and resell them at a higher price, although i could be wrrong on this point). I can't dig up anymore at the moment though.

Google is your friend, it *should* be able to help you.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Roberto88h on July 10, 2005, 11:27:37 PM
Unlocking pipes and shaders is really easy.  You DO NOT have to flash the card with a new bios.  All you have to do is download a program called Rivatuner and it does it for you. It's a great program that I use for tweaking just about every aspect of my videocard. :yes:

If I were you I would check out Guru 3D (http://www.guru3d.com)

It has a wonderful forums filled with information on how to unlock all of your extra "goodies" and even has a link to download rivatuner in the downloads section.

Remember, your card may not unlock anything sucessfully.  Just like OCing, every card is different, but I wish you good luck. :)
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 11, 2005, 12:07:08 AM
Thank you for your help. That did work. My 200 card is now a 400 card. wow. I 3dmark (03) a 11500 now.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Duelron1001 on July 11, 2005, 06:06:28 AM
meh, i am just old school then.

Matt lets see what you get in 05. I get 5623 with everything slack, ie no video card overclocking and slack memory timing.
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Taristin on July 11, 2005, 01:43:10 PM
I benchmarked with '05...

Quote
[21:47] Taristin: got 1440 marks


:blah:
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Grug on July 11, 2005, 03:01:39 PM
Anyone know if its possible to actually make a HIGHTECH EXCALIBUR RADEON 9600 good? :(
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 11, 2005, 04:01:01 PM
5600??!?! Thats insane. Un overclocked (cept for the opening of the 4 extra pipelines and vertex shader) I get a 4012. Overclocking only raises me about 300 pts to 4293. I think it may be because my computer gets destroyed on the CPU tests; all of my points come from the card. During the card tests I think I do OK with a steady 17-24 fps but the CPU tests kick my ass because they rarely get over 1fps.

EDIT: any y dont they have sound tests anymore!? I used to do good on those....
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Duelron1001 on July 12, 2005, 06:31:59 AM
after just overclocking my x800 XT to 530mhz core 590mhz (effective 1.18ghz) i scored over 6000. Not bad for a 2500+ overclocked to 3200+ (2.2ghz) with 512 mb of RAM, go the 32 bit goodness!

Once i get my new RAM i'll try and make 7000 marks :P
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: MatthewPapa on October 02, 2005, 03:41:17 AM
now that I actually have a score to brag about...........

stock frequencies and memory timings
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Taristin on October 02, 2005, 04:20:14 AM
You suck?
Title: Need to upgrade.....
Post by: Cobra on October 02, 2005, 06:00:30 AM
go here (http://www.tigerdirect.com). order online or over phone, these guys have almost everything under the sun. cheap prices, too. (256 MB MP3 player for $10 or $20! :eek: )

they have a 7800GT for $400. :biggrin1: