Game Warden Forums

Freespace => Freespace 2 MODing => Topic started by: Mobius on September 20, 2009, 09:24:47 PM

Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: Mobius on September 20, 2009, 09:24:47 PM
Me and ShadowGorrath have repeatedly tried to get one working, but with no avail.

As you probably know, the RGB setting 0, 255, 0 results in transparency... our problem is that whenever we try to change that value it's automatically reset back to 4, 254, 4 (which is the original value). Although I remember how to create squadron logos (palette, resolution and BPP are fine) this problem is preventing us from getting a nice squadron logo.

Any clue?
Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: The E on September 20, 2009, 11:31:41 PM
Umm. Which graphics editor are you using?
Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: Mobius on September 21, 2009, 06:24:31 PM
I tried Paint, IrfanView and ImageReady.

I don't know about ShadowGorrath, though.
Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: ShadowGorrath on September 21, 2009, 06:26:31 PM
I'm using GIMP. It's possible to set the transparent green colour by editing all of the green colour entries out of the 256 colours or so, but then detail would be lost way more heavily.

I tried doing the 'one-pixel-PCX with a TGA squadron logo of the same name' approach, but that way the game didn't show anything at all in the place of the logo.
Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: ngtm1r on September 22, 2009, 02:43:18 AM
I'm going to assume you already tried using a dropper tool to pick up the color from another squadron logo.
Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: ShadowGorrath on September 22, 2009, 04:10:36 AM
That doesn't work. The perfect-green gets changed during the indexing process, no matter what.
Title: Help - Squadron Logos
Post by: ngtm1r on September 22, 2009, 04:48:58 AM
Figures.