Game Warden Forums

Freespace => Freespace 2 MODing => Topic started by: snipester89 on April 05, 2009, 09:47:29 PM

Title: Cutscene problems...
Post by: snipester89 on April 05, 2009, 09:47:29 PM
I'm trying to put in subtitles for a cutscene at the end of a campaign I've been working on, but no matter what coordinates I put the text at it never shows, I even tried 0,0 with the camera facing 0,0,100 (text would be in the center of the screen) and nothing showed up.

I have never done cutscenes before, so maybe I'm just a dumb@ss, but any help I'd really appreciate.:doubtful:

If it really helps much I'm running 3.6.10, so I'm 90% sure its not a bug.
Title: Cutscene problems...
Post by: Mobius on April 05, 2009, 10:35:57 PM
X: 0 Y: 0 ?

That's not the center of the screen. Either replace 0 with 500 or add "true" as 7th and 8th arguments of the show-subtitle SEXP to center the subtitle.
Title: Cutscene problems...
Post by: snipester89 on April 05, 2009, 11:41:24 PM
I tried putting in 500 as the 0 and it worked, but how do know you know what the coordinates are? Save me the trouble of trial-and-error and tell me how you do it.
Title: Cutscene problems...
Post by: FreeSpaceF on April 06, 2009, 09:47:00 AM
They're the pixels, counting from top-left of your screen.
Title: Another Problem
Post by: snipester89 on April 06, 2009, 11:09:18 PM
I've have one more problem...I made a special map that I screenshotted and am going to use for the loading screen of the campaign. I made a 640x480 version, and a 1024x768 version. I loaded the files into the mission specs but no matter how many times I run the mission, the picture never shows up as the loading screen.
Title: Cutscene problems...
Post by: FreeSpaceF on April 07, 2009, 07:46:44 AM
It has to be in TGA, DDS, JPG or 256-colour PCX format; it should be placed in data\interface.