Game Warden Forums

Freespace => FS2NetD => Topic started by: Peter on December 20, 2008, 11:16:49 PM

Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on December 20, 2008, 11:16:49 PM
Hello guys, i have registered to the fs2net but everytime i try to go online it loses the connection, i tryed about 20 times and it allways loses the connection, so what should i do?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on December 21, 2008, 02:04:28 AM
Are you using a recent 3.6.10 version.  If not try that.  You can find them here:  http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/board,173.0.html
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on December 25, 2008, 07:47:14 PM
on my freespace launcher.exe it is the 5.3.0.0 version but on my freespace2.exe it is 1.0.0
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on December 25, 2008, 08:40:43 PM
Well there is your problem you need to get fs2_open in order to play on FS2netDd.  Retail can not access it.  Link to the installer:  http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/topic,42854.0.html
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on December 29, 2008, 10:35:51 PM
i have the fs2_open, and this still doesnt works here are the names: fred2_open_r-20060323, fs2_open_d_20060425_Kara and fs2_open_r_20060425_Kara, it is not working
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on December 30, 2008, 01:29:08 AM
Those are really old.  You need to get the latest 3.6.10 builds from the forum link I posted above.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 16, 2009, 06:01:16 PM
can you give me the link to the new version?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 17, 2009, 01:01:41 PM
thanks for all your help, and sorry for not answering early
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: karajorma on January 17, 2009, 02:09:19 PM
http://www.hard-light.net/forums/index.php/board,173.0.html

That board is where the nightly builds are posted.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 17, 2009, 11:21:14 PM
thank you
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 17, 2009, 11:23:15 PM
thank you all for the help
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 19, 2009, 02:45:10 PM
hey guys, i tryed to connect to the fs2net, and this doesnt works
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: karajorma on January 19, 2009, 09:59:36 PM
What error did you get?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 24, 2009, 07:11:16 PM
it is the game, it doesnt works, everytime i launch the game it says, (send report or dont send), the game doesnt runs
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 24, 2009, 08:21:57 PM
in fact here is the complete error:

The program is not responding


Please tell microsoft about this program.
we have created an error report that you can send to help us improve windows explorer. We will treat this report as confidential and anonymous.


                                              Send report error           |             Don't Sent
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 24, 2009, 08:22:49 PM
can anyone help me to fix this problem, i really want to play freespace 2 online and i just love the game :)
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: shiv on January 24, 2009, 09:26:32 PM
Did you install OpenAL?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: karajorma on January 24, 2009, 09:41:58 PM
Run the debug build (It's the one with _d or _debug in the file name) and then post the fs2_Open.log you'll now find in your data folder.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 24, 2009, 10:31:59 PM
i didnt installed OpenAL for this version and i runned the debug, this still didnt worked
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 24, 2009, 10:39:12 PM
in fact i never got this error:

Error:
Web cursor bitmap not found. This is most likely due to one of three reasons:
    1)You're running freespace Open from somewhere other then your Freespace 2 folder;
    2)You've somehow corrupted your Freespace 2 installation;
    3)You've haven't installed Freespace 2 at all.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on January 24, 2009, 11:37:00 PM
Well the answer is right in front of your face then.  It's one of those 3 things?  Either

1.  You are running FS2 from someplace like My Documents which is a no-no
2.  FS2 is corrupted
3.  You don't have FS2 installed.  The installer does not install FS2 just FS2_Open.  You need to buy a copy of FS2 and install that first.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: karajorma on January 24, 2009, 11:37:25 PM
Well first you need OpenAL for certain. Unless you already had it installed the game would never work at all.

Secondly that error is caused if you have FS2_Open but don't actually own Freespace2. How did you get the game?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 25, 2009, 03:11:26 PM
nothing is working to fix the game
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 25, 2009, 03:19:46 PM
if you want to know, i have the FS2 Open Launcher 5.3 in the c/games/Freespace2 and the FS2 Open Launcher 5.5 in D/New Folder directory, but i launched the 5.5 version, and it doesnt works.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 25, 2009, 03:20:22 PM
and a friend of my gived to me the game, he bought the game on ebay
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: karajorma on January 25, 2009, 05:03:45 PM
Okay. Now try running the debug build like I suggested earlier. If you're getting an error message you're definitely getting far enough to produce a log.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 25, 2009, 07:22:55 PM
i tryed to run the debug, no luck, it says the same error

                     Dont send report              |           Send report


If you want i can ask my friend if this game is a download version or the origional
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 25, 2009, 07:24:01 PM
he got me this game, but i dont remember if it is the download version.

I am gonna ask him :)
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Fisk on January 26, 2009, 08:28:03 AM
Is there a file called "Root_fs2.vp" in your \freespace2\ folder?

Edit: No, wait.
Quote
i have the FS2 Open Launcher 5.3 in the c/games/Freespace2 and the FS2 Open Launcher 5.5 in D/New Folder directory, but i launched the 5.5 version, and it doesnt works.
You must have the Launcher (and the FSO builds) in your \freespace2\ directory.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 27, 2009, 05:20:58 PM
there is a root_fs2.vp file located on C:/Games/FreeSpace2 in my FS2 Open Launcher 5.3
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Fisk on January 27, 2009, 06:38:55 PM
So, in short:
- Move the 5.3 Launcher away from \freespace2\
- Move Launcher 5.5d to \freespace2\
- Use Launcher 5.5d.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 31, 2009, 03:35:12 PM
i did what you told me to do, i moved the FS2 Open Launcher 5.5c version to C:/Games/Freespace2 and i am getting an error:

1) You're running Freespace Open from somewhere other than your Freespace 2 folder;
2) You've somehow corrupted your Freespace 2 instalation;
3) You haven't installed Freespace 2 at all.
and i went to see the control panel to see if Freespace 2 is installed, but Freespace 2 is not installed.
I copyed the Freespace 2 to a winrar archive, could be that is interfering the game? :)
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on January 31, 2009, 03:37:58 PM
but i dont think that would interfer the game by just copying the game to a winrar archive
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Fisk on January 31, 2009, 08:25:21 PM
Uh... could you just post a screenshot of your \freespace2\ folder?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 03, 2009, 06:23:33 PM
hey guys, i just put the FS2 Launcher5.5c on c:/games/FreeSpace2, and it works, i have connected to the Freespace 2 servers:)

Thanks guys, thanks for all your help
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 03, 2009, 06:24:23 PM
but i have a little trouble, why nobody cant connect to the Freespace 1 servers?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 03, 2009, 06:25:31 PM
if anyone wants to join me to play Freespace 2, just say it :)
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 04, 2009, 03:35:03 PM
hey guys, i have a question, why nobody plays freespace 1?
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: karajorma on February 04, 2009, 04:25:40 PM
The number of people playing online is already small and to play the port requires everyone to agree to play using the port beforehand (or to restart). You probably could get people to do so most likely though.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: waldo170 on February 15, 2009, 08:48:13 AM
ok so i did everything to set me up to play freespace 2 but when i try playing online i get an error when trying to validate my freespace and it times out when validating my pilot any ideas.         P.S. i couldnt find the game sold anywhere so i had to borrow it for lack of safe terms :D
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 12:02:05 PM
just a little problem, i dont have a old pxo account.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 03:12:42 PM
i dont have a freespace 1 old pxo account
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 07:24:43 PM
i just found another problem, i registered at the http://fs2netd.game-warden.com/
I have loged in and when i loged in i have flyed in the game, but my status dont say that
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 07:25:06 PM
they say i have never flown
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 07:26:22 PM
the say this:

Kills (Assists):   0 (0)
Points:   0
Missions:   0
Last Flown:   never
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 07:26:56 PM
i dont think this version is right
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 07:34:02 PM
the stranger is when i seached my pilot name, it doesnt appears there, it doesnt appears on the Current Point Rankings
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: FUBAR-BDHR on February 15, 2009, 07:35:34 PM
There are a couple of possibilities.  First if you are using 3.6.9 stats most likely won't save.  If you are using any mod including the MediaVPs stats won't save.  

Right now stats will only save with 3.6.10 and retail data.  When they save you will get a messages that stats were successfully stored.  If you are using a recent 3.6.10 build you will get a message as to why they don't store.  Although occasionally they just don't save for no apparent reason.  An update of FS2netD is in the works and will hopefully take care of a lot of this.
Title: Freespace 2 problem
Post by: Peter on February 15, 2009, 07:37:11 PM
and another problem is that i want to play FreeSpace 1 in aln and i dont know how to configurate the game to play in lan

*lan

Fubar-BDHR, do you have the FS2NetGV? if you have connect

i am connecting

can you give me the link for the multiplayer mode works?