Game Warden Forums

Freespace => Freespace 2 MODing => Topic started by: Jayge on May 20, 2007, 10:51:05 PM

Title: Random Models
Post by: Jayge on May 20, 2007, 10:51:05 PM
I got bored and started making two models, and I was wondering if they were completely useless, or if my boredom actually crafted something worthwhile.

(http://img261.imageshack.us/img261/3545/spacecraftshowoffph0.png) (http://imageshack.us)

And

(http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/5171/picture1po1.png) (http://imageshack.us)
Title: Random Models
Post by: takashi on May 20, 2007, 11:03:53 PM
inice! :yes:
Title: More ships
Post by: Jayge on May 29, 2007, 10:53:13 PM
Well, I started experimenting with Blender to see what it's worth, and these are the results (suprisingly similar to my first ship, eh? Actually, I didn't base it off it at all):

Two pictures of a cargo ship:

(http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/4996/cargocraft1iq5.jpg) (http://imageshack.us)

(http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/7882/cargocraft2hf3.jpg) (http://imageshack.us)

The so-called XR-1 Fighter:

(http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/3750/xr1fighterog3.jpg) (http://imageshack.us)

And, finally, a heavier attack shuttle:

(http://img50.imageshack.us/img50/1323/shippicturexw7.jpg) (http://imageshack.us)


Most of these were made very quickly, as I was both experimenting with Blender to see how it works, and showing my friend the basics of modelling, so I went rather quickly. :p
Title: Random Models
Post by: takashi on May 29, 2007, 11:42:50 PM
retail modding? cool.
Title: Random Models
Post by: CamInHead on May 30, 2007, 11:22:13 AM
does Maya PL always have that damned text over your workstation ? That must get really annoying...
Title: Random Models
Post by: Jayge on May 30, 2007, 02:25:24 PM
Actually, it's only there if you have it set to solids or hardware rendering. Not for wireframing or anything else.

I'm switching to Blender because of that, partially, but also because PLE doesn't allow you to save anything in many different file types.
Title: Random Models
Post by: CamInHead on May 30, 2007, 05:51:49 PM
Best advice I can give you is try to find something you're reasonably comfortable with and stick with it. Learning the interface is half the battle and switching applications is twice as hard (as I did when I went from TS to Max).

Your models look pretty good but it's too early to really extract anything from them. Keep at it though!
Title: Random Models
Post by: takashi on May 30, 2007, 06:04:37 PM
i use max for modeling and blender for texturing.
Title: Random Models
Post by: Jayge on May 30, 2007, 08:15:30 PM
Max isn't mac compatible, and most of my free time is spent on a mac since it is online.

(We have an OLD windows that only half-works... windows corrupts itself if it doesn't remain online, apparently)
Title: Random Models
Post by: takashi on May 30, 2007, 09:51:05 PM
yeah, thats OLD windows for ya. get a new windows (XP for maximun compatibility) and it should work. mainly because i havent found proof of FRED for mac.
Title: Random Models
Post by: Jayge on May 30, 2007, 11:34:01 PM
By old I meant the starting Xp's. See, Windows needs to stay connected to the internet, or it will corrupt itself. Anyway, I'm not looking into getting new computers, at the moment. What I have is fine.
Title: Random Models
Post by: takashi on May 31, 2007, 01:04:29 AM
it doesent corrupt. my computer is working proof of that. i reuse its requests for updates, and even messed with system files to make sure the opsys never connected to the internet. so far, so good. this has been going on a year too!

and you need no new computers. just a newer copy of XP.
Title: Random Models
Post by: CamInHead on May 31, 2007, 08:22:45 PM
I'd stick with blender. I doubt if MAX is worth the extra hassle. And if anyone bashes blender show 'em VA's work.
Title: Random Models
Post by: Jayge on May 31, 2007, 09:12:56 PM
Yeah, he is insane on it, isn't he? I'm actually getting adjusted to it (Maya primarily works with faces, so the adjustment to vertices took a bit), and I'm doing quite well.
Title: Random Models
Post by: takashi on June 02, 2007, 12:31:41 AM
blender has vetex, face, and line modes. you can also limit selection to whats visible, subdivide faces to make more options for extruding/vertex moving, and texture. and all at the click of a mouse.
Title: Random Models
Post by: Jayge on June 03, 2007, 09:45:35 PM
I know all that, :p

What I meant is that Blender was really made for vertex design, while Maya was subdiv/face oriented.