Game Warden Forums

Freespace => FS2NetD => Topic started by: MatthewPapa on July 26, 2006, 03:10:16 AM

Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 26, 2006, 03:10:16 AM
200$ and a few months later FS2NetD is finally back up. Use the attached config file and tutorial to set it up. You will get a hacked tables message, but that (and many other things) will be fixed later. At least you have some sort of pxo server now :D . You will have to re-register your pilot because the scores were reset accidentally (i am still looking for the backups of the old database.) If you want ur old points added on sometime in the future PLEASE register with your old fs2netd account and pilot. This will make it much easier on me :) . Have fun!

EDIT: FS2NETD IS TEMPORARILY DOWN FOR MAINTINANCE
http://www.game-warden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2363
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: frost on July 26, 2006, 08:03:02 AM
thank you a lot matt, this means a lot to the community!

oh wow, i never would have thought fs2netd would EVER come back. i was getting SO INCREDIBLY ANGRY AND THROWING TANTRUMS OH MY GAWD IT'S BEEN DOWN SINCE SPRING LIKE OMGWTH I HATE YOU ALL OMGOMGOMOGMOMG [/sarcasm].
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Cobra on July 26, 2006, 05:13:59 PM
About friggin' time. I've ben itching to play against human opponents for 5 months now.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 26, 2006, 05:28:38 PM
please post missions/tables that you want validated here
if u need a place to upload them go to
game-warden.com/files/
really all i need is ships.tbl and weapons.tbl but if u want to go ahead and send them all thats ok too
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Cobra on July 26, 2006, 05:32:30 PM
oh yeah, matt, i haven't gotten my activation email. shouldn't this be instant?
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 26, 2006, 05:47:18 PM
check ur spam filter
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 26, 2006, 09:05:55 PM
the following table sets should now be valid

vanilla (regular) fs2 tables
latest SCP tables (please REMOVE the mv_adveffects.vp)
old official fs2netd tables (downloadable via tutorial thread)
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Taristin on July 26, 2006, 09:44:43 PM
Quote from: Cobra
About friggin' time. I've ben itching to play against human opponents for 5 months now.

Wow. You ungrateful little sod.....
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Ephili on July 27, 2006, 01:22:17 AM
Its been so long that iv forgoten some things. Hell, i havent played FS2 at all sence FS2netD went down the last time.
So excuze me for the question(s).

So with the downloaded file (in this thread), i should be able to get in the multiplayer area and see games etc, w\o knowing the IP's (like back in the PXO days)?

And a second Q. Any word on a new LOBBY yet? Dam i miss the lobby.

Note: Il re-register and read the tuitoral next.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Cobra on July 27, 2006, 01:52:46 AM
if there was a lobby matt would have announced it.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Ephili on July 27, 2006, 02:02:00 AM
Sorry, i Rarely venture off HLP, to GW. Btw, do you have an answer to my first question?

EDIT: I was unable to find a tutorial on the FS2netD site.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Admiral Khafe on July 27, 2006, 02:13:45 AM
my tutorial is here (http://31503825)

Couldnt login as [dw]-hunter for some odd reason so i made another account. i reset password and everything still doesnt like me.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Ephili on July 27, 2006, 04:51:00 AM
Help? Asap please.

I have vanilla FS2, upgraded with Toms Build (way back when), and i installed the new fs2pxo config. file, and registered and loged in FS2netD which just came online. I played several games, each one, 'stats have been tossed'. Stats are saveing for all other players.

W T F

I have a windows XP home edition.

EDIT: check ur link, khafe.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 27, 2006, 05:00:10 AM
this thread is stickied at the top...its pretty hard to miss

http://www.game-warden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=267

next time before you start whining look around a little :P
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Ephili on July 27, 2006, 05:33:02 AM
*sigh* i think i found the problem. If im right, godamit PXO. wasted 69+kilz. Gur.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: crucial_soul on July 27, 2006, 06:35:59 AM
hey thnx mathewpapa i am new and found about this and played a few games right b4 it went down, now i can play thnx heaps
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: 303 Hubertus on July 27, 2006, 10:24:52 AM
I have problem with registration, first i try to register (303) Hubertus, and it failed, then i try to register Hubertus and i haven't get no email.
Soome tips for me.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Cobra on July 27, 2006, 04:53:47 PM
did yuo check your inbox and junk mail thoroughly?
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 27, 2006, 04:54:42 PM
People, Make Sure That Your Ports Are Forwarded Correctly As In The Faq, Otherwise People Will Not Be Able To See Ur Games And U Will Not Be Able To See Other People's  Games

IF NO ONE IS JOINING UR GAMES, THEY PROBABLY CANT SEE THEM IN THE FIRST PLACE BECAUSE UR PORTS ARENT FORWARDED CORRECTLY
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Qwer on July 27, 2006, 06:06:20 PM
I tried to regiester and resent request through "http://freespaceserver.cjb.net/fs2netd/main.php?area=register&mode=resend&user=Qwer" 3 times and none worked. Can you send me activation link on PM?
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: castor on July 27, 2006, 08:55:39 PM
This is sweet news :yes: Thanks MP :)
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Star Dragon on July 29, 2006, 05:03:33 AM
I tried to register (again) as Star Dragon, and as Star-Dragon... Both times when I clicked on my activate link in mail FS2net site page said, Error "Star not found"...

Am I doing something wrong?
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: karajorma on July 29, 2006, 09:12:23 AM
Using a Space and a Hyphen apparently. Try StarDragon
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Star Dragon on July 29, 2006, 04:41:48 PM
I saw others with spaces so I assumed I could also.

Tried a third time..  StarDragon (failed)

and one last tiem with no capitalization...  stardragon

this is the message each time I click on the mail activator link:

Star, The following problem happened while trying to activate your account:
Star was not found. Please click on Register to register this pilot again.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: castor on July 29, 2006, 08:10:30 PM
Weird.. does the the full pilot name appear in the provided link?
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on July 29, 2006, 09:08:19 PM
copy paste the link in ur emial to the browser
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Star Dragon on July 30, 2006, 12:41:57 AM
Just tried it...

And no, it always says "star". only first 4 letters no matter what form of the name I tried.

I copy pasted link, failed...  then opened whole new window, blanked out , copy pasted failed...

Does it matter I am on firefox?

Lastly why does FS2net need activation link? sexbots? :lol:

Seriously, can't someone just force the account open on the website end? (whistles innocently)...
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: crucial_soul on July 30, 2006, 01:05:44 AM
to star dragon dosent matter if ur on firefox i am using it and makes no difference as for anything else i dunno
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: hunter on July 30, 2006, 04:58:51 AM
Quote from: karajorma
Using a Space and a Hyphen apparently. Try StarDragon


you can use spaces, just remember when you goto click the link in ur email your gunna need to copy and paste it all to your internet browser
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Star Dragon on July 30, 2006, 06:04:18 AM
In theory, cause it just fails in my case. :D (reread above)
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: karajorma on July 30, 2006, 07:31:29 AM
Try copying it and pasting it in but replace the star dragon bit with star%20dragon
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Star Dragon on July 30, 2006, 07:40:47 AM
Excelsior!

  That's what was happening it seems, Link stopped at star even without space... Making progress, it registered me and I logged in...

  Now to find a game :D

Thanks a bunch!
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: karajorma on July 30, 2006, 08:14:58 AM
No problem
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Star Dragon on July 31, 2006, 12:03:12 AM
Ok hehe I got multi working (sorta) I saw CROW! and put his ip in box, joined his game, chatted with him, but right after mission loaded last light bar I got kicked back to lobby (contact with server lost)

IS this because he's on tom';s build and I am on scp? I tried retain but errors popped up. DO I have to try Tom's?

L8tr!
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: frost on July 31, 2006, 04:54:32 AM
by the way, you don't have to put his IP in the box anymore... the "refresh server list" will automatically look for IPs in the FS2NETD (at least that's how it's been working for me).
Title: problems
Post by: Wasp on August 01, 2006, 08:40:00 PM
Hi Im new here, new to freespace also. A friend told me about it ,and me, him, and another are looking to play online with it. we all got the game and were in the process of setting them up to be multiplayed compatible.

My problem is, I cant recieve the confirmation e-mail after registering. I have no spam filter on, and i tried resending it numerous times to no avail. I'm racking my brains trying to figutre out how to fix this problem. I was able to recieve the confirmation email from this forum site just now, so i know my e-mail account is working. does anyone have a solution?

thanks for any help,
Wasp
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: karajorma on August 01, 2006, 10:26:07 PM
Unfortunately the server seems to be a bit strange about sending out confirmation e-mails. I tried several times to no avail and then registered a second time so that I could have 2 user names for development purposes and had both emails arrive (at different email addresses) within under a minute of each other :)

Hopefully it can be resolved soon because we are going to be getting a lot of new players who want to play multi from both the BSG and Starfox releases.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on August 01, 2006, 10:43:09 PM
its f00ked right now, dont try and register

i have been working on it for the past 2 days solid, and rest assured I am doing everything i can to restore service
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Wasp on August 02, 2006, 10:47:50 PM
hi again, I told my friend about the email issue and he did something and got the email to send to me and got it authorized.he did this before you said that it was fooked and not to. hope that doesnt effect the account :(  when we tryed to connect online it would say connecting to FS2NetD but then we keep getting "connection failed". Is this a problem on our end, maybe old config file? or is the server dwn for a bit?

hate to be a pest, but we really like the game!!

thanks for any help guys!
Wasp
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on August 02, 2006, 11:07:59 PM
people: please read before u post
http://www.game-warden.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2363

i am doing the BEST I CAN. You people have NO idea how much work this thing takes to run and maintain
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Wasp on August 03, 2006, 10:56:39 AM
oops, sorry about that, i didnt see that thread. I realize that it takes alot, i have some freinds that do servers for different games, and from them I sorta get the idea of how hard it is. Its really cool of you to take the time to set this up , and its really appreciated!

sorry again for bieng a pest, and we will wait patiently while you do your magic!!
Wasp
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on August 04, 2006, 04:42:50 PM
you should at least be able to register on the main page now

the server should be up shortly
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: anamael on August 04, 2006, 05:19:42 PM
question : how do you logout from that page

http://freespaceserver.cjb.net/fs2netd/   ???
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Qwer on August 04, 2006, 07:00:24 PM
I've made second E-Mail account for [BH]Qwer nick and it didn't worked even after around 5 re-requests. For old Qwer i've sent around 30 and didn't worked too. Please do something with that, if possible for [BH]Qwer.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Wasp on August 04, 2006, 08:09:25 PM
Qwer, i had yahoo as my mail accounts and i made 2 different pilots, but never got the e-mails for confirmation.My spam filters were off, but that didnt change a thing. I went to http://www.hotmail.com and made a free account there and registered for a 3rd pilot, and i recieved the confirmation e-mail within a minute at my hotmail address. so try hotmail, it worked for me.

I went to the acess site and my pilot shows up there now! cool! But tried to conect to fs2netd today and it validated tables, then tryed to connect... but then it said connection failed. after clicking 'ok', it then looked for games from the serverlist. is this normal, or is the server still experiencing problems, or am i missing some files?

I know i said i wouldnt be a pest, but its in my nature, what can i say :)

Wasp
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: karajorma on August 04, 2006, 09:56:00 PM
The connection failed warning means that it failed to find a FS2NetD connection and fell back to IP mode.
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: miles32 on August 05, 2006, 02:29:35 AM
yes but why would it do that if you know everything is setup correctly?
(see what we have here is a failure to pay attention)
Sorry papa
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: MatthewPapa on August 05, 2006, 02:36:45 AM
READ THE THREAD PEOPLE

I EMPLORE YOU

We answer the same questions over and over again
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: Qwer on August 05, 2006, 07:11:06 AM
Ok, i've regiestered account on Hotmail and made new one for this e-mail and it worked. Thx Wasp. ;)
Title: FS2netd: take3
Post by: karajorma on August 05, 2006, 07:15:37 AM
Basically as Matt is trying to point out FS2NetD is going to be bouncing up and down all the time for a while as things get sorted out.